Answer to 1/20-26/13 You Make the Call

Offensive player A1 is in his back court holding the ball after receiving a pass from A 2. After 4 seconds A1 starts his dribble and after 4 seconds he picks up his dribble and holds the ball for another 4 seconds. The official does not rule this a violation.

Is the official correct?

The official is correct. The key here is the ball is in backcourt so that there is no 5 second count (unless College Women’s Game) only a 10 second violation count applies in this situation.