The Answer to 1/6-1/12/13 You Make the Call

A1 is being closely guarded by B1 (within 6 feet of the player dribbling or holding the ball) in front court. The official gets to 3 seconds and the B2 on defense switches and picks up the offensive player directly as the dribbler comes off the screen.

The official stops the 5 second count and starts a new 5 second count on the switch.

Is the offical correct? Yes, the official is correct. So long as the switch is made within 6 feet of the offensive player the count still remains on.

This call is missed some and should be called alot more.

Recommend this article