Answer to 12/30/12-1/5/13 You Make the Call of the Week

A1 attempts a shot at his/her basket. It is an air ball and the ball does not hit the rim or the basket. A1 runs in catches the ball before it hits the floor and then dribbles twice and shoots and scores. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

Yes, the official is correct. Once the player attempts a field goal in the judgement of the official it is no longer player or team control and the player may run and catch the air ball……No violation.

Recommend this article