The Sweet 16 and Their State Locations

For the first time ever 4 teams from one state have made it to the sweet 16

Ohio State, Ohio, Cincinnati and Xavier at all from Ohio.

Kentucky and Louisville from Kentucky

Marquette and Wisconsin from Wisconsin

North Carolina and North Carolina State from North Carolina

The remaining 6 are from just one state

Indiana, Florida, Syracuse NY, Baylor Tex, Michigan State and Kansas

Look where the most teams are from, the best high school basketball area of the country, the middle states, some from the east Coast and only Kansas and Baylor west of the Missisippi.

10 teams from the middle of the country, 4 from the East, 1 from the southeast, and 1 from the southwest. West Coast got shut out, although Stanford looks like they might be able to win the NIT.